you SHOULD be happy for me…

i’ve found the one who loves me for me
i’m now connected with someone who doesn’t mind my flaws
i’m in a place that brings me great joy
you SHOULD be happy for me

i’ve accepted the fact that yesterday is gone and i’m moving forward
i’ve made a commitment not to replay the errors of times past
i’m moving forward into a new and exciting time and season
you SHOULD be happy for me

you should be happy for me but you’re not…
your choice is to embrace the people and the times that caused me so much hell
in the name of protection, you selfishly question my ability to make decisions for me
your contempt is felt and acknowledged even tho…
you SHOULD be happy for me

the problem with this whole line of thinking is that
instead of drawing me closer, you’re pushing me away
instead of protecting me, you’re rejecting me
instead of loving me, you’re really hating on me

i get it tho…
you wish things were different… well, so do i
you wish that situations / circumstances would have worked another way… well, it didn’t
you wish that i were still at your beckon and call… well, i’m not
you wish that things could stay like they used to be… well, things change

truth is…
life is too short to be unhappy
so, i’m moving forward with my life
my preference is that you would still be a part of my new life
but, the reality is that we don’t always get what we prefer
we don’t always get what we want
we don’t always get to have a say in what someone else is doing

but here’s the wrap-up…
the future will look one of two ways…
(1) actually BE HAPPY FOR ME…
and we can move forward in life and enjoy this new season TOGETHER or
(2) don’t be happy for me…
and i will move forward in life and enjoy this new season WITHOUT YOU

 

Leave a Reply

