Where’s the Balance?

Whenever we see each other, one of the first questions is, “How are you?”. The general answer is always, “Fine. How are you?”. The problem with this exchange is that we’ve been taught to be polite but, in all honesty… We don’t really care how the other person is doing because we’re dealing with our OWN lives.

The thing about social media is that it allows us a venue to express ourselves and see the expression of others without truly having to answer those polite questions. While, at the same time, we’re able to voyeuristically see the joys and pains of others. We are entertained, and informed, by the what people post.

I no longer need to talk to you to ask how you’re doing because I just read thru your timeline and can see exactly what’s going on in your life. I know that your sister just had a baby. I know that you just bought a new car. I know that you just got married… Why? Because, we randomly post EVERYTHING that we experience.

My question is this, “What happens when people aren’t posting?”

I speak for me. When I’m going through my greatest challenges in life… I DON’T POST. But, since we’ve gotten so accustomed to seeing everything, do we ever stop to think about NOT seeing posts from people?

The thing that sets me apart from most is that, among other things, I’m a writer. I don’t have a choice. I MUST share my thoughts and feelings. So, when things get dark for me… I write one of these letters. It’s MY cry for help. But, what if I wasn’t a writer? Will anyone notice my social media silence?

But, I entitled this letter, “Where’s the Balance?”

There are two scriptures that I struggle with in stressful times like these… Job 14:1 KJV, “Man that is born of a woman is of few days and full of trouble.” And John 10:10 KJV, “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

The question that comes to mind is…

If life is designed to be short and full of trouble then, where is the abundance of life?

Where is the balance? When we look around, there’s trouble within ourselves, at home, at school, at work, in church, within our community, throughout our nation, over the whole earth… So, where is “life”? Don’t get me wrong… I have faith. I want to know where is the abundance? Or, is that abundance called “full of trouble”?

I look forward to your comments… I NEED them today.

There’s a Nu Sound in the air…

Leave a Reply

