The Spirit of Negativity

If Hebrews 12:29 says, “For our God is a consuming fire” then, the spirit of negativity is the “Ice Bucket Challenge”. Why? Because negativity is the exact opposite of what God has intended for us. He wants us to have life and have it more abundantly but, all negativity does is drain life from you and those around you.

I just recently had a conversation where the concern was about Margarette, who is not able to read. Yes, it’s true. In 2016, there are STILL people who can’t read but, that’s another subject for another day. The thing that was interesting is that when listening to Margarette talk, you’d never realize that she doesn’t read. When she spoke about Godly things she was quite positive but, her conversation was quite negative when it came to  herself. You see, the problem wasn’t about God but about her. Negativity begins its work internally. It changes the way you see yourself… How you view your life and accomplishments… AND, how you believe that OTHERS see you…

I have a friend that uses “but” a lot. Nice hairstyle but, it’s flat on one side. I love those shoes but, they hurt my feet. I feel great but, my blood pressure is up. If it weren’t so serious then, it would almost be comical. Whenever I talk to them, I can gauge when the next “but” will come up. And, that happens after EVERY good thing. Negativity truly is a “BUTT”. It transforms the goodness of life into waste.

I also know some of the GREATEST storytellers on earth. The problem is that they ONLY tell their stories to themselves and generally, they have all of the parts wrong. The crazy part is that we ALL know them and if you don’t know one of them, you probably ARE one of them Here’s an example… “I was talking to my next door neighbor and, one time, they saw a mouse inside their house for the first time in 20 years. Their cat killed the mouse. They put the dead mouse went into the dumpster and they haven’t seen another mouse, in years.” The translation is… “My neighbor HAS mice and they’re running through the walls. The other night, I heard something in the ceiling. It was probably one of those 20,000 mice that they have over there. Now, I need to get an exterminator to handle my mouse problem. And, if I don’t hurry up and get this problem taken care of then, I need to start looking for a new apartment.” Zero to Sixty in Three seconds…

Unfortunately, the best friend and traveling companion of negativity is the spirit of offense. I can guarantee you that many who read this letter will be offended by what I’m saying here. So, be careful when you decide to share this one. I’ve offended many people when I’ve made even the slightest comment about their negativity.

Now, I’ve talked about the problem. What’s the fix?

There are multiple layers to combatting this one. The reason that I say “combatting” and not “fixing” is because there is NO fix. It’s an ongoing struggle. Even, the most positive people in the world struggle with negativity. It’s all about HOW do you handle it.

The first step is internal… we have to start with ourselves. We have to recognize that everyone couldn’t be wrong when they say that we are negative, or have negative tendencies. I have to shine the light on myself and take ownership of this issue. I can’t fix YOUR stuff… I can only fix MINE.

Now, that I’ve taken ownership, I must realize that it’s an issue of the heart. We don’t come out of the womb seeing things in a negative light. Life happened to us and caused us to change our perspective. The way that we overcome heart issues is through love. But, how can we receive love when our heart has been wounded?

WARNING: IT’S ABOUT TO GET PREACHY…

But, how can we receive love when our heart has been wounded? Read the Bible. But, don’t just read it… Study it. Give God’s Love Story towards us the ability to penetrate our hearts. You will find God’s love scattered throughout His Word and it WILL change you, if you let it.

The Bible tells us to ‘hide the word’ in your heart. You see, what’s in our hearts comes out of our mouths. The power of life and death is in our tongue. So, if our heart is filled with God’s word then, our tongue will speak LIFE!!!!

So, you’ve taken ownership and you’re changing your heart… Now what? Let’s work on our minds!! The mind is a very powerful thing. The Bible says that whatever you THINK… that’s what you ARE (Proverbs 23:7). It also tells us WHAT to think about. Check out Philippians 4:8-9 from the Message Bible…

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.

And finally, after taking ownership, changing your heart, and changing your mind… Change your company!!! This is the one and only external step. Sometimes, a part of the problem is that we continue in friendships, and relationships, with people who, quite honestly, aren’t good for us. They feed negativity because THEY are negative. I’ve seen ‘gossip parties’ where one person starts talking about X then the next person adds to it. Then, more and more piles on and all you’re left with is emptiness and despair!!! But, they got the latest scoop on what’s going on!!

My friend, if you love yourself… if you love those whom you say you love… Fight, conquer, and defeat the spirit of negativity. I KNOW you can do it!!! I believe in YOU!!! I have faith in YOU!!!

There’s a Nu Sound in the air…

Leave a Reply

