That extra push…

I was blown out of the water this weekend when two different people thanked me for believing in them. The crazy part was that, in my own eyes, I wasn’t doing anything special. There were things that these folks had done and I simply congratulated them and encouraged them to keep it up. I only did what I was taught as a child to do…

After I received the second thanks, I really pondered about why my actions were so abnormal, or extraordinary, and I came to this conclusion… People want to be praised but don’t praise each other. So, when someone does praise you, that praise catches you off guard.

Personally, I struggle daily with depression, feelings of inadequacy, and feelings of abandonment (just to name a few). As a resourceful person, I have been to a great many psychological websites, read more than my share of papers written on these issues, spoken with professionals and deduced a number of theories regarding these matters. I have also been very diligent in surrounding myself with positive people and people that I consider above me or at the level that I desire to be. You may be asking why and the simple answer is this… When I’m struggling the greatest, I want to know what I’m dealing with and I want to have people close by that their mere presence is a boost for me.

I’ve learned that whenever I have those down times, if I don’t get in the right place, I can spiral uncontrollably and the results aren’t pleasant. I become super withdrawn, lacking any desire except to ball up in the corner on the couch, and I’m not a nice person (understatement, of course). I understand the concept of “when it rains, it pours” also known as the Law of Attraction. I also know that life has a tendency of beating up on you. But, in all of that, we have to take a stand!!!

I’ve decided that I will follow a really easy, Biblical notion… “Do to others as you would have them do to you”, Luke 6:31 NIV. Another rule that I try to follow is one that my mother gave me, “If you can’t say something nice, then don’t say nothing.” People need to feel special. I need to feel special. There are times when I don’t feel special and I wished for someone to tell me that I was… I know how it feels.

We get enough of the negative side of life. As human beings, we have a knack for magnifying the uncool stuff and throwing it in people’s faces. We have perfected that art but who wants to be known as a professional mudslinger? Funny thing about slinging mud is that as long as you’re slinging it, YOUR hands are dirty.

All I’m saying today is to make a concerted effort to do good to someone, anyone… everyone today. We never know how that kind word (seed) will blossom into in YOUR future… We all need that extra push!!!

I love you ALL!!!
Stay Blessed,
Jackie

 

4 Replies to “That extra push…”

Leave a Reply

