Just be there…

All I can say is, the inspiration for my daily letters come from everywhere.

I just read a post of Facebook that spoke of an elderly man and his son. You see, the man was in intensive care. As he lay there, the nurse brought the Marine to his bedside and said, “Your son is here”.

Throughout the evening and night, you could see the Marine holding the man’s hand and speaking words of encouragement to him. He never left the man’s side. The dying man held on tight to his son’s hand and the Marine never left his side.

As the morning approached, the man died. The Marine finally let go of his hand and went to inform the nurse of his passing. While she did what she had to do, he waited.

The nurse came back and began offering words of encouragement and the Marine interrupted her, “Who was that man?” he asked. The shocked nurse said, “Your father.”

The Marine replied, “No, he wasn’t. I’ve never seen him before in my life”

“Then why didn’t you tell me when I took you to him?”

“I realized immediately that there had been a mistake but, I also knew that he needed his son, who wasn’t there. Once I saw that he was too sick to tell whether or not I was his son and knowing how much he needed me, I stayed. I came here tonight to find a Mr. William Grey. His son was killed in Iraq today, and I was sent to inform him. What was this gentleman’s name?”

With tear filled eyes, nurse replied, “Mr. William Grey…”

The next time someone needs you… just be there. Stay.

I did not write this story but only adapted some of the key points. But, the message here is powerful. That Marine was sent there with a one purpose but, he fulfilled another.

Many times, we are dashing around with purpose in mind but we are soo consumed with what we HAVE to do that we miss what we NEED to do.

Never forget that, “People are our greatest asset…”

I love you ALL!!!
Stay Blessed,
Jackie

 

Leave a Reply

