Don’t ask that question!!!!

One of the personality traits that I carry is a lack of fear regarding the quest for information/knowledge. If I’m interested, then I will ask. In my humble opinion, this is a great trait to have. Over the years, I’ve learned that many times, depending on the situation, other people had the same questions but were afraid to ask. Once, the conversation got started, light was given and all could move on. I truly believe that I got this from my Dad…

Back in the day, when we would go to bible study, the minister would teach the lesson and it would be an open forum, or classroom setting. People had the opportunity to ask questions throughout the lesson to gain better understanding of the scripture. It wasn’t like today where bible study is like another sermon, or monologue… where the teacher talks and we just listen. We were afforded the opportunity for feedback. The minister, having studied, was prepared for the questions that may arise and was versed enough to give strong, mainly biblical answers.

The thing that was cool to me was that people respected the teacher. It really wasn’t all about competing with them or seeing if you could ‘stump the teacher’. The questions generally were on point with the lesson and were fulfilling to all. Sometimes, there were questions that people didn’t really want to ask and that’s where my dad came in. Something was stated whether from the floor, or the teacher, that just didn’t sit well with people. You’d see different ones start to grumble and squirm in their seat. The whispers started flowing and then you could hear my holler out, “Question!!!” It was way cool!!! Because, you would never know what my dad would ask and once he did… It was on!!!

Well, a second trait that I have is that I am extremely perceptive. There isn’t much that goes on that I haven’t paid attention to, noticed, or seen. Mix this with curiosity and a lack of fear and you have the potential for true enlightenment, or a hot mess!!! Unfortunately, not all questions should be asked.

My wife and I were down at the courthouse getting our marriage package and we ran into a member of our church that I hadn’t seen in several months. I was soo excited to see her. I asked how she was doing and told her that we missed seeing her. I also congratulated her.

She said, “Congratulations for what?”

I continue, “So, when are you due?”

Her response was classic. “When am I doing what?”

Oh, by the way, did I tell you that I am also very, very, very persistent? My internal voice was in overdrive!!! “Why is she playing?”, “All I’m doing is wishing her well with her new developing child”, “She is such a goofball”…. So, I continue down this treacherous path leading to nowhere but embarrassment for both her and me. Now, a bit frustrated, I plainly say… “So, when are you having your baby?”

Apparently, she didn’t know what I was talking about until I said the word, ‘baby’. The revelation hit her like piano being dropped on a cartoon character. If she were Superman with laser eyes, I would have been a pile of ash. There was this moment of uncomfortable silence that seemed to last for ages… Then she finally smiled and said, “I’m not pregnant and walked away”.

Well, I learned a very valuable lesson that day. No matter how great the urge is. No matter how well intentioned I may be. No matter how far along she looks…

Don’t congratulate women for being pregnant!!!

Nowadays, whenever I see a person that looks pregnant, like I did the other day, I just ask everyone, except them.

Please have a Safe and Happy New Year. Do something different… Be kind to someone who doesn’t deserve it. You may be surprised by how many people are kind to YOU.

I love you ALL!!!
Stay blessed,
Jackie

 

 

Leave a Reply

