This Christmas…

I don’t know what it is but it seems like, this year, I’m not as excited about Christmas as I have been in years past. I’m not feeling like Ebenezer Scrooge but I’m not feeling like the happiest elf either. There is soo much going on in the world — check that —. There is soo much going on in LIFE that the Christmas season seems to be overshadowed.

The world seems to be fulfilling the worst parts of the Bible and the “end times”. Stories like the attempted Benghazi cover-up, Syrian violence, attacks on Pakistan factories, and the North Korean activities all point to “wars and rumors of wars”.

Then we have our own issues in the United States. The financial well-being of our country as a whole is terrible. We’ve been focusing a lot of our attention on the “fiscal cliff”. But, what about the basics? Can we get a budget? We increased the debt ceiling but never set a budget and we’re wondering why we’re going over the “cliff”!!! We have people killing children, teachers molesting students, and the government’s response… gun control. Seriously?!?

Locally, the news is talking about increased security and police presence in schools, how to avoid holiday scams and transsexual discrimination.

Then we have our own issues.

Again, with all of this stuff going on, it get’s difficult to see the beauty of Christmastime. Barring the gift giving piece, which is a whole different animal… I know that this time of year should be about family and friends; and people coming together in love and unity; and the whole peace on earth and good will to all men thing. Right now, I’m struggling with that and I know that others are struggling as well.

As always, I just can’t present a problem and leave it. How can WE fix it? I think we start at home. I think we start with the simplest thing that we can give… a hug, and not just any hug. Not a pat of the back hug with a push off and not a hug trying to get sex… A real hug. The kind of hug that you feel the cares of the world just melt away. The kind of hug that gives comfort and encouragement. The kind of hug that seems to last forever and you still don’t want to let go. The kind of hug that pulls the tears from your eyes when you didn’t want to cry. The kind of hug where no words were spoken but you both knew the entire story and understood.

I think that’s where we should start. I truly believe that if many us just had a hug, our attitudes towards life and people would change. I remember, when some kids would ‘act up’, how there would be that person that said, “you need a hug”. And after they hugged that child, there was an immediate difference in them. We as a society need a hug…

But, those are my thoughts… what do YOU think? How can we cure these Christmas blues? I really need your feedback…

I love you ALL!!!
Stay blessed,
Jackie

Also, check out my website… http://www.JackieSmithJr.com

Leave a Reply

