What does it all mean?

The Bible says this in Mark 9:23-24 NKJV…
23 Jesus said to him, “If you can believe,[a] all things are possible to him who believes.”
24 Immediately the father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!”

This story refers to a father, who brought his son, that had a mute spirit, to the disciples to be healed. Unfortunately, they couldn’t heal him but Jesus did. Most of the time, when dealing with this passage, the focus is on the “all things are possible” section; or the inability of the disciples to heal the child; or Jesus healing the child and his rebuke of the disciples. But, I’m writing this morning as the father.

My entire life has been centered around church. Growing up in the 70s, we ‘had church’ almost every day of the week. We were always there. We attended Sunday School, Bible Class, Evangelistic services, Youth meetings, Prayer meetings, Conventions and, in the summer, Vacation Bible School. I’ve been taught the foundational truths of God, the devil, Heaven, Hell and earth. I believe in the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ, and the reason for it… to save humanity. I believe in baptism by submersion. I believe in all of this stuff but when dealing with life, it doesn’t seem like enough. A lot of times, I feel like Thomas, a believer that needed proof.

As different things have happened in my life, they have caused me to question my beliefs, to question God and to question what it’s all about? My question is about purpose. What is the true purpose that we are all here? Why do we do what we do? What is the final outcome of all of this? And better yet, when will we know?

These questions, and countless others, have plagued our minds for millennia and the interesting part is that these questions aren’t only for Christians, Jews, Muslims, Atheists or whatever… These are EVERYBODY questions. We’ve all determined, according to our beliefs, an answer that meets us where we are. But honestly, if YOUR answer was THE answer then, why is THEIR answer DIFFERENT?

By no means am I discounting anything that I was taught. My question is that of faith. Like the father in the story, he believed enough to take action but there was still doubt. But what makes this man one of the most powerful figures in the Bible is this… he recognized where he was and asked for help. Too often, we don’t do the second part and that is ask for help. We will believe all day long but not all of us have reached Paradise, Nirvana or even seen a glimpse of Heaven. We need — strike that — I need help.

Every person is given a measure of faith. My question to YOU is what is our purpose? I’m asking because I really want to know…

I love you ALL!!!
Stay blessed,
Jackie

Also, check out my blog… https://chosen2k7.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

