A Confidant…

One of the most important things that we need in life is a confidant. Some may be asking, “What is this and where can I get one”. Well, I’m glad you asked… According to Merriam-Webster, a confidant is… one to whom secrets are entrusted; especially : intimate. Basically, they are the one person that you trust implicitly and without reservation with any and everything about your private life.

In marriage, your confidant should be your spouse. Not only do they reside with you but they do have a “best interest” in matters that concern you. This line of communication should NEVER be disconnected, or tampered with, because your spouse is your lifeline. Your spouse is there for you when no one else is even thinking about you. They have your back. I thank God for my wife!!!

In other places, your confidant should be a friend. I don’t mean like a Facebook friend, or someone that is just friendly towards you. I mean a tried and true friend. That one person… Wait, someone may have missed that last statement… THAT ONE PERSON, that you have an established relationship, kinship, or connection with that will not only listen and counsel, but will not judge AND will not hold against, or over you, AND will not share with anyone else without your express approval due to the sensitive and intimate nature of what you share. Oops and I almost forgot the MOST IMPORTANT part… AND they care about, or love, you.

The tricky part about confidants is this, not always will YOUR confidant confide in YOU. They may be available for you, which is good, but guess what… they know you and they know whether or not YOU can be trusted. Don’t trip though. You know yourself and the moment that you get some “juicy” story to tell, it will be all over Google+ and YouTube.

Unfortunately, it is very hard to find a true confidant. I believe that the No Judgment rule is the biggest hindrance because as people we judge. Justified, or not, we judge everything. There have been times in my life that I really needed help in a lot of different areas but I had no one that I could feel comfortable with and trust that they wouldn’t judge me and my decisions. No one is perfect. We’ve all made bad, sometimes horrible, decisions but having that person that can look beyond the stupidity, love you for who you are and help you get back on track… that is a special someone.

Are YOU that someone? Are you a confidant? Do you have one? If you don’t, you need one. No one was meant to go thru this life alone. We ALL need that someone special.

I’m here for YOU…

I love you ALL!!!
Stay blessed,
Jackie

Leave a Reply

