I was just thinking about you…

Letter from 2012-11-26

I truly believe that people are in your life for one of three reasons… A Reason, A Season or A Lifetime. When we look back over our lives, we’ve been in touch with thousands, maybe even tens of thousands of people. Do a quick check of your primary social media outlet, whether it is Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or even MySpace (does anyone still use MySpace?). How many friends do you have? In Facebook, I currently have over a 1,000 ‘Friends’. But, when looking at this number, what category do these people fall into? Reason, Season or Lifetime?

Over the years, I’ve been a member at several different churches. I’ve had a bunch of jobs. I’ve lived in more than a few cities. In every place you make friends and set up associations. The thing that I find intriguing is whenever I go back to any of these places I hear the same thing… “I was just thinking about you…”. This recently happened, and unlike the zillion other times I’ve heard this, I could tell that the person truly had been thinking about me. When I walked in the door, the shock on their face was picture worthy. We reminisced and promised to stay in contact. But, what happens next?

I’ve always been a ‘Reacher’, always reaching out to others. The sad part is that reachers are far too few. Sometimes you want to hear your phone ring because someone was thinking about you. Sometimes you want to get a call and the person didn’t want anything except to hear your voice. We’ve become soo sophisticated because of technology that we miss the forest for the trees. In the old days, we had to be at home in order to check your messages on the answering machine. In the old old days, we had to time our calls just right in order to catch people at home or at their desk. Or how about this, we use to buy a stamp, write letters and mail it. All of these modes required anticipation and thought. Nowadays, the phone is on our hip and email is just a swipe away… Yet, we don’t take the 30 seconds required to let someone know that you were thinking of them…

People know how much they are valued by the little things that are done for, with or to them. Show someone how valuable they are to you. Don’t just think about them but reach out and touch them…

I love you ALL!!
Stay Blessed,
Jackie

Leave a Reply

